skip navigation

MSHL League Information


The Maryland Student Hockey League is an association of over 50 school based teams located in Maryland and the District of Columbia.  We are a registered 501(c)3 corporation and we are a member of the Potomac Valley Amateur Hockey Association which is the local governing body of USA Hockey, the National Governing Body of amateur ice hockey in the United States.

The League sponsors Varsity and Junior Varsity competition of all skill levels and sexes.  While not affiliated with the Maryland Public Secondary School Athletic Association, the MSHL follows as many of the MPSSAA's rules and regulations as possible, given the constraints imposed by the various schools and school systems.

The MSHL will provide an equal opportunity for our participants without discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, or national origin.


Our conferences include the following counties:


Eastern Conference (Anne Arundel, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Harford, Queen Anne's, Talbot)

Howard Scholastic Hockey Association (Howard County)

Montgomery Hockey Conference (Montgomery County, District of Columbia)

Monocacy Valley Hockey League (Carroll County, Frederick County, Washington County)

Southern Conference (Prince George's County, Calvert County, Charles County, St.. Mary's County)

Girls Conference is formed from girls representing the five conferences plus an additional team North East of Baltimore City.


MSHL Quick Links